Rima Elkouri and Kevin Lambert in the running for a prestigious literary prize

English translations of the book manam by Rima Elkouri et al. Roberval Quarrel by Kevin Lambert named to the short list of the Atwood Gibson Writers’ Trust Fiction Prize, which rewards the author of the best Canadian novel or collection of short stories in English of the year.

Updated September 14

Emilie Cote

Emilie Cote
The Press

In 2021, this Writers’ Trust of Canada literary award was renamed in honor of two of its co-founders, Margaret Atwood and Graeme Gibson.

In addition to Quebec authors Rima Elkouri and Kevin Lambert, the other finalists are Nicholas Herring (for his book A bit of hell), Darcy Tamayose (Ezra’s Ghosts) and Saeed Teebi (His first Palestinian). The winner, whose name will be revealed on November 2, will receive a $60,000 scholarship.


Author Kevin Lambert

Donald Winkler signs the English translation of Roberval Quarrel by Kevin Lambert, while Phyllis Aronoff and Howard Scott provided that of manam by Rima Elkouri, a novel inspired by the life of her ancestors who survived the Armenian Genocide.

The English version of manam it appeared at Maison Mawenzi in October 2021. The novel has also been translated into Spanish and will soon be translated into Arabic.

For his part, Kevin Lambert has just released the novel May our joy remain, in fanl he denounces the injustices of wealth and privilege.

Add Comment