With a large user base over the past two years, Google to meet was and remains one of the most used video platforms for business meetings and classes during the pandemic. And yesterday (7), the Google announced some improvements for Meet users.
One of the novelties is the notification when you are the only one present in a meeting. So now when you’re the only person in a meeting for five minutes, the Google will send a request whether you leave this room or not. Thus, if you do not respond after two minutes, the platform will automatically remove you from the meeting.
As in the image below, the message will appear: ” Are you still here ? You waited too long. Do you want to keep waiting?
According to information shared on Google’s blog, the reason for implementing this feature is to prevent “accidental sharing of audio or video if you forget to leave a meeting”.
The company says the new option is now available for Google Meet on desktop computers and iOS devices. The new feature is coming to Android soon and will be available to all Google Workspace customers, as well as former G Suite Basic and Business customers and users with personal Google Accounts.
Additionally, Google announced another Host Controls Consolidation Tool for meeting hosts and co-organizers, making it easier for them to manage their meetings. Thus, users can access multiple options from the first page, without having to open multiple paths to find the main features.
Google indicates that this update for Google Meet is available and for all users only for the program on the computer. It should be noted that this feature is also coming this month and is gradually rolling out to users.
Continue after ad
Thinking of buying a product online? Discover the Save the Connected World extension for Google Chrome. It’s free and offers you department store price comparisons and coupons so you can always buy at the best price. Download now.